Red Hot Apple Wedges for Canning

I remember back in school way back when; at least once a week our school up in Illinois had cinnamon apple rings that were dark red that I just loved. While going thru my copy of the  “Ball-Complete Book of Home Preserving” I found a recipe for Apple Wedges in Cinnamon Red Hot Syrup and decided to see if these would be similar in flavor and with apples now starting to come into season, no better time than now to try out this recipe, don’t you think?

Red Hot Apple Wedges - yrcg

Red Hot Apple Wedges

Recipe from The Ball Complete Book of Preserving

Makes about 8 pint jars

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup cinnamon red-hot candies

2 Cinnamon sticks (each about 4-inches long)

2 tsp whole cloves

1 tsp ground ginger

2 cups water ( I used distilled)

1 1/2 cups vinegar

2/3 cup light corn syrup

2 Tbsp red food coloring (optional)

24 medium-sized apples, washed,peeled,cored, cut lengthwise into eights, treated to prevent browning. You can use 1/4 lemon juice in 4 cups water or commercial citric powder in water to prevent browning.

1. Prepare canner,jars and lids

2. In a large stainless steel saucepan, combine sugar, cinnamon candies, cinnamon sticks, cloves,ginger,water,vinegar, corn syrup and food coloring if you are using. Bring to a boil over medium-high heat, stirring frequently. Add apples and stir gently over medium heat until the apples are heated through, about 6 minutes. Discard the cinnamon sticks. Turn off heat, but leave saucepan on heating element while filling jars.

3. Using a slotted spoon, pack the hot apples into hot jars to within a generous 1/2-inch of top of jar. Ladle hot syrup into jar to cover apples, remove air bubbles,  leaving 1/2-inch headspace, if necessary add more hot syrup to adjust the headspace to 1/2-inch. Wipe the rim. Center lid on jar. Screw band down until resistance is met and then increase to finger-tip tight.

4. Place jars in canner, ensuring they are completely covered with water.Bring to a boil. Once the water is boiling, process the apples for 15 minutes. Remove canner lid and let pot sit for 10 minutes. Now you can remove the jars, cool in a draft free location for 24 hours. Once cooled, remove rings, check to be sure jars sealed, wash jars,label and store in your pantry. Any unsealed jars should be eaten in 3 days.

 

"Red Hot" Sundae - yrcg

 

Verdict: These apples are delicious and are better than the cinnamon apple rings I remember from school way back when! The wedges are perfect and the apples are sweet,tangy and taste of the red-hot candies and cloves. I really liked these chilled all by themselves and I know they will be good with my homemade yogurt!  I even made a “Red Hot” sundae with some granola, yummy. I like the red color of the apples from the food coloring, so bright red; just don’t spill the juice. Ask me why?!!! Next time I may try them making them without the food coloring, but I have to eat these 8 jars first! 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Red Hot Apple Wedges for Canning

  1. Kim says:

    I’ve been thinking about making these!

  2. jenn says:

    can I use something besides corn syrup?

  3. easgrandma says:

    I was looking for a recipe to use Red Hots in my homemade applesauce I can and came across your post – my grandsons will love this, so thank you!

  4. denise says:

    when making these have you ever had a problem with the juice running out while boiling? or is it something I did..this is my first year of canning…. thank you

    • Yes, sometime some juice will seep out during canning , usually not a lot. Could be from filling jar over required level or taking jars out of the hot water bath too soon after time of processing is up. I leave the jars in the water for 10 minutes now to let the contents settle down a bit from the rolling boil and then remove to counter to set over night. As long as the jars sealed the product inside is fine. Be sure to remove the rings and wash the outside of jars and label before you put in pantry. MY jars seeped some with this recipe as well. Had red rings of cinnamon on my towels! Isn’t canning just the greatest hobby? If you are not addicted yet, you will be 😉 I canned 21 quarts grape juice yesterday and back at canning tomatoes today.

      • denise says:

        Thank you sooo much..i was worried because the day after we canned these I popped a jar open (seal was just fine and tight) (1/2 the fun of canning is trying this delicious creation you have just made) and the juice went at least to half of the jar…but you have helped me tremendously because when the timer went off the jars came out…need to let them sit the 10 minutes before removing… oh gosh yes I am an addict..i love canning and the best part is sharing with my 95 year old gramma..she was so proud of the green beans,salsa,jelly,etc…and I said gramma you never would let me help you do this when I was younger but I watched every move you made 🙂
        thank you again for your advice …with this being my first year canning I seem to be second guessing but I think by next year I will be a very confident canning diva 🙂

  5. Linda says:

    What “KIND” of apples do you prefer to use when making these? There are soooo many different brands out there, so I am just curious what you used?

    • You want to use apples that don’t go soft.So McIntosh and the red and yellow delicious won’t work. My favorite apply is Honey Crisp. I also use the Granny Smith. The Ginger Golds will work too. Just tried those fresh this year. Waiting for the Honey Crisp so I can get a bunch dehydrated for pies later in the year! If you have a flea market of apple orchard nearby they can recommend all kinds and then you can mix them up!

Leave a Reply

