Let’s Can Some Sunshine ~ Ambrosia Conserve

I just finished the last jar of Ambrosia Conserve that I eat with my homemade yogurt in the mornings and before I have withdrawals from lack of pineapple and coconut in my breakfast every morning I dashed to the fruit stand for a fresh pineapple and some oranges so I can replenish my pantry with some of the best tasting sunshine around.

When you mix it with yogurt and top off with some homemade granola you just can’t beat the flavors and you can’t get this on any store shelf.

I use the recipe from Balls Complete Book of Home Preserving. So here goes.

Ambrosia Conserve

based on recipe from Balls Complete Book of Home Preserving

Ingredients

5 cups chopped fresh pineapple that has been peeled and cored

2 medium size oranges- grated zest and juice

5 cups granulated sugar

1 cup flaked coconut, you can use sweetened or unsweetened

1 cup chopped maraschino cherries that have been drained

1/2 cup slivered almonds, I just coarsely chopped almonds I had in my pantry

Directions:

This recipe makes about six 8-ounce jars. I always prepare an extra jar just in case. Get the canner filled with water and get the water heating up. Wash the jars, since we are water bathing the final product over 10 minutes it is not necessary to sterilize the jars. Place the lids and rings into a small saucepan of water, heat to boiling and then keep on low to keep lids hot.

In a large, deep stainless steel saucepan, combine pineapple, orange zest and orange juice. Bring to a boil over high heat, stirring constantly. Once the pineapple mixture has come to a boil,reduce heat and boil gently for about 10 minutes until the pineapple is softened, be sure to stir occasionally to prevent sticking.

Pineapple and zest getting happy - yrcg

 

Once the pineapple has softened, add the sugar to the saucepan and then increase the heat to medium-high, stirring until the sugar is dissolved. Bring the sugar pineapple mixture to a hard boil, meaning you can’t stir down the mixture when it is boiling. Boil, stirring frequently, until the mixture thickens, this should take about 15 minutes.

My homemade maraschino cherries and almonds - yrcg

 

Now stir in the cherries, almonds and coconut, return the mixture to the stove and return to a boil. Boil for 5 more minutes. Remove from heat and test to see if you are at “gel” stage. If the gel stage has been reached, skim off foam.

Cherries,almonds and coconut added to the party - yrcg

 

Ladle the conserve into the prepared jars, leaving 1/4 inch head space. Remove air bubbles and adjust the headspace if needed, by topping off with hot conserve.

Ambrosia in jars, not topped off yet - yrcg

 

 

 Wipe rim. Center the lid on jar, place ring on jar and screw band down until resistance is met and then increase until finger-tip tight.Place jars in hot boiling water canner, be sure the jars are completely covered with water. Bring canner back up to a hard boil and then start the timing. Boil for 15 minutes in covered canner. Remove from heat after 15 minutes. Remove lid, but leave jars in canner for 5 minutes, this keeps the product from boiling out of jars when you remove from the hot water.Place hot jar in draft free location, I cover with a clean dish towel and leave the jars undisturbed until cooled completely. The most exciting part is hearing the “pop” of the jars sealing, you can tell if they are sealed if you press down the center of the lid and there is no movement or the jar is slightly concave in the center. I leave them for 24 hours. After that wash exterior of jars, remove the rings and store in your pantry. If any jars did not seal, place in the refrigerator and eat within three days.

Ambrosia Conserve - yrcg

 

Verdict: All six jars sealed, I only photographed three of the final jars as that was what I could carry outside for a picture in the natural sunlight and not drop my camera . This stuff is so good! If you do not like yogurt, try it on a fresh croissant, warning you can’t eat just one with this tasty sunshine. If you want to try a different recipe for pineapple this is a great one to add to your pantry.

This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Let’s Can Some Sunshine ~ Ambrosia Conserve

  1. Jean Wedding says:

    how do you get your homemade maraschino cherries?
    thank you

    • When the cherries are in season during the spring I can up the dark red cherries that we get here. I have the detailed canning recipe in my posts under “Canning and Preserving” and then I can make my own. They are not the bright red cherries you see in the store. After you complete the recipe and can them, the dark red cherries taste like the little red ones in the store. I think they are better homemade. You can also use the regular maraschino cherries from the store as well for the recipe. The ambrosia conserve is one of my favorites for my morning yogurt! Thanks for stopping in. Yellowrock!

  2. Jean wedding says:

    I AM MAKING MY SECOND BATCH RIGHT NOW. uSED ONLY 2 CUPS of Florida crystal sugar. in the first batch last week. Delicious. used even more of the tuny shredded organic unsweetened coconut, more almonds and more dried cherries. I am jealous of uour getting fresh cherry locally. LOL Better run so dont burn my pot of conserve. Thank you
    Now for this batch will use lots less coconut since not a regular home, went off and forgot to grab a new bag. (Buy coconut by the case

  3. Jean wedding says:

    Got my half pt sin water bath now. This time used only 1 cup of sugar. Turned out only had about 1/2 cup of coconut….. so it only made 4 Half pints and about leftover in pan is prob about
    4 oz…..

  4. Flee says:

    Can I use fresh cherries ? Thx, sry twice..typo my mail address 🙂

    • I would think you can , they might turn the ambrosia pink with the fresh juice but I might try that myself on my next batch. Have 6 more jars to eat first! Let me know how it works out if you use the fresh cherries.

  5. Flee says:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

