Call 911 ~ I’m Smokin’ Pork Shoulder aka Boston Butt

No, I did not start a forest fire here in the woods! Had you wondering,huh?

 Our daughter and my favorite son-in-law, okay he’s also my one and only son-in-law are headed up from south Florida for bar-b-que today to celebrate our birthdays and Fathers Day last month. So I was up early this morning getting things ready to smoke a Boston Butt on the grill. I like using the charcoal grill for smoking meats, just put them on and let them do their thing in all that lovely hickory smoke.

Pork Shoulder- Boston Butt - yrcg

I started with a 6.5 pound boston butt, trimmed off the excess fat and then rubbed with pork rub. I let the meat set out for about 60 minutes to get the chill off of it and let the rub spices start to mingle with the meat juices.

Pork Rub Mix - yrcg

Pork resting with the rub - yrcg

While the meat was resting I cleaned the grill and started up a chimney of “Cowboys” lump charcoal. This is a newer charcoal they had at the store that I wanted to try. The lump charcoal started real easy and did not take long to come to temperature, about 15 minutes, which is what the bag said so I am impressed so far. I also set some of my hickory wood chips into a small bucket of water to soak for 30 minutes.

Once the charcoal was ready I placed some extra lump charcoal on both sides of grill and placed the hot coals onto the cold lump charcoal and placed a drip pan in between the two stacks of hot coals so I can smoke the boston butt with medium temperature indirect heat. I sprinkled some of the wet hickory chips onto the hot coals, closed the lid to get the lovely smoke started.

Back to the house for the boston butt, now before I headed back to the I made up a marinade to inject into the meat which consisted of apple cider, white vinegar, sugar and kosher salt. Injected the boston butt with the marinade and then headed out to the grill. Placing the boston butt in the center of the grill over my catch pan and closed the lid.

The hardest part of this whole process is keeping the lid closed so the smoke stays inside! I did have to add more hickory chips from time to time. I smoked the meat on the grill until very tender and juicy and there was this beautiful dark bark on the meat. I turned the meat every hour or so.  The meat was done once the internal temperature read 180 to 190 degrees farenheit, next to though not touching the bone. This took about 6.5 hours, so you have plenty of time to make more fixins or visit company!

Pork Butt- Ready to come off the grill - yrcg

When the meat was done remove from the grill  cover with foil and let rest for at least 30 minutes and try to keep everyone away from the meat for sampling!

We are ready to eat - yrcg

The pork rub recipe I used for the boston butt was from Webers Real Grilling cookbook I used in my earlier post all about grilled pizza. That Jamie Purviance is one great grill cook and makes everything seem so easy to a bar-b-que novice like myself. I’m telling ya, you need to get this book if you have a grill.

Pork Rub – Recipe for rub from Webers Real Grilling

You will need a 5 to 6 pound pork shoulder / boston butt , trimmed of excess fat

2 tsp chili powder

2 tsp ground black pepper

2 tsp kosher salt

2 tsp ground cumin

2 tsp dried oregano

1 tsp garlic powder

Mix the above spices in small bowl and after trimming excess fat from boston butt, rub this mixture all over the meat and rub in well. Let the meat rest on cookie sheet for 30 to 90 minutes, the longer the better. This gets the chill off the meat and lets the spices absorb better.

Apple Cider Injected Marinade

1/2 cup apple cider – you can use apple juice

2 TB white vinegar

2 TB sugar

1 tsp kosher salt

Mix marinade in small jar , cover and shake well until salt and sugar are dissolved. Fill injector with marinade and inject into the meat in various places to get that lovely seasoning into the meat. You are now ready to go to the grill!

Verdict: The meat was very juicy and tender I am guessing due to the slow smoking process and the apple cider injection. The meat was very flavorful and there was very little leftover. That’s a real good sign that everyone liked the pork. My son-in-law said it was well worth the wait. The next time I may omit the apple cider injection so that the meat will shred for the pulled pork sandwiches that I love so much. I also want to try some of the recipes for pulled pork that I keep drooling over on Cowgirl’s Country blog ( see my blogroll) where she shows that “girls” can rule the grill and smoker just like the guys! I love her blog and you should go over there and check her out if you haven’t yet, just be fair warned she will make you hungry and raring to get out to the grill and smoker!

This entry was posted in Grilling and Smoking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

