Dehydrating Mushrooms

I know I have been dehydrating a lot of different fruits and I decide to change things up a bit a go with white button mushrooms that were on sale. Dried mushrooms are great to have on hand for soups, rehydrating for pizza toppings, burgers , mushroom gravy, dehydrating for that secret ingredient in your sauces and soups.

I started with an 8-ounce package of whole white button mushrooms. I washed them to remove the loose dirt. I cut off the stem end and then sliced the mushrooms in to 1/4 inch slices , placing the sliced mushrooms evenly on the dehydrator trays and dried them at 135 degrees farenheit for about 8 hours and they were completely dried.

Sliced mushrooms ready for the dehydrator- yrcg

My yield for the mushrooms after dehydrating was 1 full pint jar. I like these mushrooms better than the canned mushrooms you buy in the store. I have already started using these mushrooms and will need to get a whole bunch more dehydrated before they go off sale and I will try some of the other mushroom types as well, but white mushrooms are the ones we use the most.

Yield: 8-ounce pkg whole mushrooms yielded 1 full pint sliced and dehydrated.

Dehydrated Mushrooms - yrcg

Note: You can also dehydrate the mushrooms whole, but they will take up more space.

To rehydrate mushrooms for pizza topping, I just place about a small hand full (approx. 1/4 cup) of the dehydrated mushrooms into a coffee mug, cover with water and then microwave on high for 90 seconds and then let the mushrooms sit until ready to use. I drain the mushrooms of any liquid that was not absorbed and then use in my recipe or sprinkle on to of my pizza!

This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

