Momma Mia Mozzerella ~ Homemade Fried Cheese Sticks

Mozzarella Cheese - yrcg

My son loves cheese sticks, but the cost of those in the freezer section of your grocery store are expensive for the few sticks you get. So I decided to find a recipe and make them myself and have them in the freezer. Now whenever the urge hits, I’ll be ready!

This recipe is from the Taste of the South Magazine , Winter 2006 issue. Can you tell I like to keep my older magazines? I am getting around to writing up my favorite recipes or the ones I want to try to finally parting with these older issues to make room for newer ones.

Homemade Fried Cheese Sticks

recipe adapted from Taste of the South Magazine, Winter 2006

 

Ingredients:

1 (16-ounce) block of mozzarella cheese

1 1/2 cup oven-toasted bread crumbs

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 TB Italian seasoning

3 large eggs

Vegetable oil for frying

  1. Cut cheese into 1/2-x-1/2-x-4-inch sticks
  2. In a shallow dish, combine bread crumbs,flour, and Italian seasoning
  3. In a small bowl, lightly beat eggs

    Getting the coating ready - yrcg

 

  1. Dip cheese sticks into the beaten eggs, allowing excess to drain. Coat each cheese stick in bread-crumb mixture. Dip coated cheese sticks in eggs, allowing excess to drain, Roll in bread crumbs again. Place on a lightly greased baking sheet. Repeat procedure with the remaining cheese sticks. Cover and freeze for at least two hours or up to 2 days.

    Cheese Sticks Ready for Freezer - yrcg

 

  1. In a large skillet, pour oil to depth of 1/2 inch. Heat to 350 degrees F  over medium heat on stove top. Fry frozen cheese sticks, 5 at a time, for 1 minute per side, or until lightly browned. Drain on paper towels and keep warm. I took the sticks out just as cheese began to ooze thru coating to be sure cheese was completely melted.
  2. Serve with pizza or marinara sauce.
  3. Yield: 18 sticks

 

Cheese Sticks and Dip - yrcg

Verdict: These were much better than the frozen ones from the store. My family gave them 3 stars. I only cooked enough to finish this post so the rest are in the freezer until next time we have a craving.  I will definitely make these again to have in the freezer from time to time. I used my left over pizza sauce from the grilled pizza and the sauce was the perfect dip.

 

This entry was posted in All things in the Dairy, Snacks and Appetizers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Momma Mia Mozzerella ~ Homemade Fried Cheese Sticks

    • Hi there thorns2roses , I checked out your recipe for “fire stew”. The recipe sounds really good especially for cold weather. I will have to try it out. We do not like cilantro all that well, can I use cumen in its place? Good luck on your search for employment and double good luck for your weight loss.. you can do it. Thanks so much for the visit.

Leave a Reply

