Roses for Elizabeth – A Tribute to Darleen Nordine

We do not remember days, we remember moments.
— Cesare Pavese

We lost a great lady with the passing of Darleen Nordine this past Monday, May 30, 2011. We had a fantastic turnout  of 144+ family and friends that turned out at the Whirl & Twirl dance hall for the memorial service today for Darleen as a way of showing how much we all loved  her and will always have a special place in our hearts for her.

Dick and Darleen dancing at Hoedowners - photo by Michael Craft

I learned during the service that she was a fantastic wife, mother, fantastic cook, teacher, master gardener and world traveler, traveling around the world with Dick before they retired to Florida.

Rod and I had the great pleasure of learning to round dance with Dick and Darleen over the last 2+ years and I know we have a lot more practice to become really good dancers. To watch Dick and Darleen on the floor dancing together as they demonstrated the Cha-Cha , Rumba, Waltz  or the American Swing they just flowed around the dance floor so effortlessly and it was amazing.

 Rod & I will never forget the extra times she worked to help get my feet straight or show Rod how to turn me the correct way. Dick is still a positive force in our lives and encourages us in our continued journey of round dancing and we really try hard to make him proud, even when I step on Rod’s feet he still smiles.  The dance to ” Roses for Elizabeth”  was a favorite of Darleen’s and it is a favorite of Rod & I , even though it is a difficult dance and we don’t get to dance it that often, each and everytime I dance that round dance I will remember her.

Darleen was also a master gardener and loved growing roses. I am no master gardener, but as you can see in my blog posts I love gardening and roses are some of my favorite flowers. These are flowers and roses from my garden that I am sure she would have loved just like I do. 

You can complain because roses have thorns, or you can rejoice because thorns have roses.
— Ziggy

 

Maitland Climber - Mystery Rose - yrcg

 

Celtic Pride Rose- trcg

 

Don Juan Climber - yrcg

 

I know that Darleen will be missed by all her family and friends, but we have such wonderful memories to cherish.

 

Abrahm Darby Climber - yrcg

 

Red Bottle Brush and Butterfly - yrcg

The things we truly love stay with us always, locked in our hearts as long as life remains.
— Josephine Baker

Lemon Daylily – yrcg

 Until we meet again, we have the memories of you to carry us through.

 

This entry was posted in Square Dancing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Roses for Elizabeth – A Tribute to Darleen Nordine

  1. Daniel Digby says:

    The dance was one of our favorites too.

Leave a Reply

