Look Out Grill Here I Come – Grilled Pizza

I bought a grilling book last year and even read most of it, but never got to try any of the recipes as I put the book up and forgot where I put it. Have you ever done that? I do things like that all the time. Go down the hall to go get something and by the time I get there I forgot what I was there for and then I have to go back and try to figure it out! See I am rambling here as I forgot what I was talking about… oh, this grilling book well I finally found it in the TV hutch, the book I have been leading up to is  Weber’s Real Grilling by Jamie Purviance.

Webers Real Grilling Book - yrcg

This is a great grilling book for the beginner or the master griller. With most grill masters being very secretive on their recipes its nice to have a book that can at least get you started and give you many ideas on using your grill for something besides just hotdogs and hamburgers , which I love but like to change things up from time to time.

Well Mr Jamie Purviance has a recipe for using the grill for making grilled pizza and I figured why not, we could have homemade pizza and not heat up the house as the temperatures here in Florida are beginning to heat up. He has recipes for the pizza dough and sauce, but I have my own that I use so the recipes you see here are the ones I use for the homemade pizza dough and pizza sauce. This is a great recipe to make in the morning and then have ready for grilling later in the day. Ready? Here we go.

Pizza Dough Recipe:

Ingredients:

2.5 cups bread flour

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp active dry yeast

1 cup warm water- not hot

Directions: Combine flour,salt,yeast and water in a bowl. I use my stand mixer which will do the mixing and kneading for me. Mix the flour mixture until it is smooth, about 10 minutes on low speed with the dough hook. If you do not have a stand mixer, just mix the ingredients and blend well and then turn out on floured surface and knead the dough until smooth about 15 minutes. Place the dough either from the stand mixer or the hand kneaded dough into a lightly oiled bowl. I use extra virgin olive oil. Cover the boil with a damp cloth or plastic wrap and let rise until double. Usually takes about 1 to 1.5 hours depending on the temperature of your kitchen. While the dough is rising you can go ahead and make the pizza sauce.

Homemade Pizza Sauce  – This recipe is adapted from the pizza sauce from The Treasury of Top Secret Recipes.

Ingredients:

1 15-ounce can tomato sauce

1 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/4 tsp dried basil

1/4 tsp dried thyme

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp salt

1/8 tsp ground black pepper

1 bay leaf

1/8 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp lemon juice

Combine all ingredients into a medium saucepan, heat on medium high heat to just boiling, reduce to a simmer and simmer for 30 to 60 minutes to desired thickness. This sauce will make your kitchen smell like an italian restaurant while it is cooking and everyone will be wanting to know what you are making . Once simmered to desired thickness, turn off heat and let cool. Place in tightly sealed container in refrigerator until ready to use.

Let’s Make Grilled Pizza

Heat grill and be sure the grates are cleaned and nice and hot. I heated the grill up to 500 degrees farenheit and then turned my grill down to medium heat to keep at 400 degrees.

Get your toppings ready….. pepperoni, mushrooms,peppers, olives, bacon bits, mozzarella cheese, whatever you like on your pizza, your pizza sauce you made earlier.  Place on a baking sheet to carry out to the preheated grill.

Once the pizza dough has risen, you are ready to make pizza. Punch down the dough. Transfer to a lightly floured surface and divide into 4 to 6  equal pieces. Cut parchment paper into 9-inch squares and lightly oil each sheet on one side. I used “Crisco Non-Stick Spray”. Place a portion of the dough into the center of the parchment paper and top with the second sheet of lightly oiled parchment paper. Roll or press the dough into circles of about 8-inches if you want a thicker crust, I rolled the dough very thin so the dough was more oblong and will be for “thin and crispy” pizza so you see my pizzas are not perfect circles!

Pizza Dough rolled between oiled parchment paper - yrcg

I take the dough out to grill one at a time as I don’t want the dough to get warm or it is harder to peel off the paper from the fresh dough.. ask me how I know that! Peel the top sheet off the dough and place on the grill grate dough side down and then peel off the top paper. If you like you can reuse this parchment paper for the next round of dough to save on the parchment paper, just respray with non-stick oil on the side that was oiled the first time. Grill over direct medium heat 2 to 3 minutes rotating the crust to get even cooking and some of the grill marks from the flames and hot grate onto bottom of crust. 

Peel off first layer of parchment paper - yrcg

Place dough on grill and peel off top layer of paper - yrcg

Pizza dough safely on grill- yrcg

Pizza dough flipped over - yummy char marks - yrcg

Turn the dough over and start layering on your topping. The book says pull dough off grill and place on baking sheet, top with toppings and then place back on the grill. I just flipped the dough over and topped the dough directly on the grill , it get’s a bit warm but if you are used to grilling it’s no big deal and then you don’t have to worry about dropping the pizza to get it back on the grill.  You don’t need a lot of toppings when dealing with grilled pizza. I used the pizza sauce, then some pepperoni and bacon bits and mozzarella cheese for the first pizza and the second pizza had added mushrooms and red peppers.

Grilled pepperoni pizza - waiting for cheese to melt - yrcg

Pepperoni and mushroom pizza- rady to finish cooking - yrcg

Grill until the crusts are crisp and the cheese is melted about 4 to 5 minutes. The last 2 minutes I closed the lid to get the cheese completely melted. Remove from the grill, slice and enjoy.

Verdict: We all really liked the flavor of the pizza on the grill and will definitely do this again. I was able to make three pizzas in 20 minutes and each person got the toppings they wanted. I still have enough dough left over to make two more pizzas so the dough is in the refrigerator waiting for tomorrow.  I forgot to get a picture of the pizza completely done because as soon as they came off the grill they were gobbled up! We all agreed that the areas of the crust that got a little burnt and charred from the grill flames was actually our favorite part, made it taste like brick oven pizza. I hope you will try making your own pizza on the grill.

Note: I have not been paid for any endorsements of products or the book noted in this post, I just love to share the cooking techniques as I learn them and hope to encourage others to experiment in the kitchen and outside on the grill.

This entry was posted in Grilling and Smoking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

