Homemade Condensed Milk Sweetened

I do a lot of baking and always seem to be out of those little cans of sweetened condensed milk. So, off to the internet to find a recipe to make my own and not have to buy anymore. I found a recipe on Allrecipes.com that was submitted by cdicke1. I want to record it here so I will know where it is when I need it!

 Here goes:

 

Homemade Condensed Milk

Recipe from AllRecipes.com

 

Ingredients:

1 cup boiling water

1/4 cup margarine

2 cups white sugar

4 cups nonfat dry milk powder

Blender

Directions:

Pour boiling water into blender container. Add margarine and sugar. Blend carefully due to the hot water . Blend until combined. Add the dry milk powder 1 cup at a time, blending after each addition. Store in refrigerator and use where a recipe calls for sweetened condensed milk.

1 1/3 cups equals one 14 ounce can 

Note: I always keep some dry milk powder in the pantry, great for emergencies and it does not go bad. Now I have another use for the milk powder.

 

This entry was posted in Kitchen Tips and Homemade Ingredients and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

