Refrigerator Super Sweet Pickles

I had a bunch of pickling cucumbers from the garden, too few for a regular batch of processed pickles and I am all out of sweet pickles so I decided to try this recipe from “The Big Book of Preserving the Harvest ” by Carol W Costenbader.

The original recipe makes eight pints of pickles. I had enough cucumbers for 4 pints so I have adapted the recipe accordingly.

Refrigerator Super Sweets 

Recipe adapted from The Big Book of Preserving the Harvest

 Ingredients:

1/2 gallon cucumbers (about 6 large) scrubbed and sliced – I cubed the cucumbers

1 quart distilled white vinegar 5% acidity

3 cups sugar

1/2 teaspoon whole mixed pickling spice

1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)

 

  1. Place the cucumber slices in an 8-quart crock. I used a one-gallon glass jar as I do not have a pickle crock. Cover with cucumbers with vinegar. Make sure the cucumbers are completely under the vinegar.
  2. Cover the cucumbers with a ceramic plate and place a heavy jar of last year’s pickles on it to weight it down. Let stand for 24 hours.  I used a plastic lid that I could place into the jar and topped that with ziploc bag filled with water to hold everything down under the vinegar. The few chunks seen above the red lid are still under the vinegar.

 

Cucumbers in brine - yrcg

  1. After the 24 hours drain and discard the vinegar. Add the sugar, pickling spice and salt (if using) to the cucumber slices.
  2. Mix gently to allow the sugar to dissolve somewhat. After several hours, stir again. The pickles are ready to eat when all of the sugar has dissolved.

    Brined cucumbers and spices - yrcg

 

  1. Pack the pickles in sterile canning jars and refrigerator before eating. These will keep for 2 months in the refrigerator.

Note: This recipe is an adaptation of the NC Agricultural Extension Service recipe – per the end of recipe.

Yield 4 pints per recipe

Verdict:

I started making these pickles on Monday May 30 and let them set in the refrigerator until this morning June 2nd so they would be really cold. These pickles were very good. Sweet, sour and crunchy. The pickle chunks shrunk up a lot and the 1/2 gallon of pickles to start ended up being 1 full pint and 1/4 pint of pickles. So not a whole lot of pickles to have to eat within the 2 months , which will not be a problem in this family. I will be making these again. and I hope you will try this recipe out.  

Pickles ready to eat - yrcg

 Note: I have not been paid for reviewing this recipe or cookbook. I just like to share my adventures with you.

 

.

  1.  
This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

