Pumpkin Pie from Dehydrated Pumpkin

Now that I have dehydrated my pumpkins into thin sheets of pumpkin goodness and roasted the pumpkin seeds for snacks, I thought it best to show you how to make a pie with the dehydrated pumpkin. I still had some dehydrated pumpkin left from last fall, so I am using it up first, the pumpkins last year dehydrated a lot darker in color than this year’s pumpkins, I am  guessing it is because of where they are grown.

 Tammy with www.Dehydrate2Store.com  has a great website all about dehydrating just about anything and she has some really neat recipes. I decided to try her real easy recipe for pumpkin pie. If you are new to dehydrating she has a great website and will get you addicted to dehydrating everything . So here goes.

Pumpkin Pie from Dehydrated Pumpkin

Recipe adapted from Tammy with Dehydrator2Store.com

 

Ingredients:

1/2 cup dehydrated pumpkin powder

2 cups boiling water

1 can evaporated milk

3 large eggs

1 cup sugar

 1/2 tsp ginger

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cloves

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1 tsp cinnamon

 

Dehydrated Pumpkin

 

I ground up my dehydrated pumpkin in my coffee grinder that I use only for spices, using the fine powder selection.

 

My trusty spice grinder - yrcg

I placed the pumpkin powder into a large measuring bowl and poured the 2 cups of boiling water over the pumpkin powder, stirred well  to incorporate and let set for 20 minutes until cooled.

Pumpkin Powder !!

 

Powder & Water Magic - yrcg

 

 Once the pumpkin has cooled and is rehydrated add the 1 can of evaporated milk, eggs, sugar and spices into your blender and blend for 1-2 minutes. Since I blew up my blender I placed everything in my kitchen aid mixer and mixed it just fine.  

Rehydrated Pumpkin- It's amazing

 

Mixing everything up

 

Pour the pumpkin mixture  into pie shell and bake for 40-50 minutes.My pie took 60 minutes for the knife to come out clean when checking to see if the custard had set. So I would start checking after 45 minutes.

 

Slicing the pie for quality control!

 

Note: If you have pumpkin pie spice you can replace the above noted spices with 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice for the ginger, cloves, nutmeg and cinnamon.

I do not grind up my dehydrated squash, pumpkin or vegetable sheets until just before using so they will not lose their flavor or potency.

 

My slice- do you want a bite!

 

Verdict: The pie turned out beautiful and was so good and it was not to sweet like some pumpkin pies. I hope you can give this pie a try. I think you just might like it, and think of all the space you save from the freezer! I had my parents try the pie without letting them know it was dehydrated pumpkin, they loved it and they were amazed that the pie was from my dehydrated pumpkin stash! So pull out the dehydrators and get those pumpkins and squashes dehydrated for your next pie.  

 

 

This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating, Sweets from the Oven and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pumpkin Pie from Dehydrated Pumpkin

  1. Dan says:

    I am so happy I found this. I have lots of pumpkins to deal with and don’t feel comfortable canning them. I LOVE pumpkin pie. My dehydrator and vitamix is ready to go.

Leave a Reply

