Homemade Sour Cream

Homemade Sour Cream - yrcg

 

We use a lot of sour cream in this family and I started making my own based on a recipe from About.com. I like this recipe as I always have heavy whipping cream on hand in my refrigerator ( which has a long shelf life ) so I can make homemade butter, whipped cream for desserts and sour cream and also have traditional buttermilk from the butter.

Homemade Sour Creamadapted from About.com

1 pint jar – sterilized

1/2 cup sour cream

Heavy whipping cream to fill pint jar to 1-inch head space

Put the sour cream into bottom of sterilized jar and fill the jar with the heavy cream to the 1-inch fill line. Stir the sour cream and heavy cream to full incorporate. Place clean jar lid and ring on jar and set the jar on the kitchen counter somewhere that it will not be disturbed. I usually mix this in the morning or just before bedtime  and then it can set out for at least 12 hours or until very thick, you should be able to remove lid from jar and tilt the jar sideways and the mixture will not solid and not pour out of the jar. The original recipe states keep out for 24 hours, but in my kitchen it only takes 12 hours. Once the mixture is thickened and chill until very cold. You are ready to use. Yields 1 pint .

Note: When I open the jar of sour cream to use for the first time I place 1/2 cup portion into a 1/4 pint jar that is sterilized before hand and place that in the refrigerator so I  already have the “mother sour cream ” ready to make a new batch, because if your family is like mine you won’t know you are almost out until you get ready to put some sour cream on your baked potato!  That’s how you can have a never-ending supply of sour cream by just keeping heavy whipping cream and the “mother” in your refrigerator. 

The best price for heavy cream that I have found is at Wal-Mart. A 32-oz. container of heavy whipping cream at Wal-Mart costs $2.96 here in Central Florida. The regular grocery stores charge almost double for the same size container.

 One container of heavy whipping cream will yield me 1 pint of sour cream, 8.5 ounces fresh butter, which is a little more than 2 sticks of butter and 1 cup traditional buttermilk. If I make whipped cream for a dessert then I would have a bit less of the sour cream or butter, but I have the choice of which fresh ingredients I need at the moment. 

This entry was posted in All things in the Dairy, Kitchen Tips and Homemade Ingredients and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

