Almost Three Bean Salad for Canning

Yellow Wax Beans from Garden - yrcg

It’s getting to be that time of year here in Florida with the fresh green beans coming into season. I grow my own yellow wax beans as they never have those in the markets around here. I was torn between making dilly beans or buying some fresh green beans at the market to go with these yellow wax beans and since I really wanted to can up more jars of Three Bean Salad for our pantry as we only have one more jar left in the pantry from last year, I went ahead and got some fresh green beans from the market. Now I can share the rest of the story and recipe.

Last year I had searched the wide world web for recipes with many including green peppers and celery which we don’t care for in our bean salad when I found a blog that I now follow thru my RSS feed on google http://dorisandjillycook.com . They have lots of canning recipes on their blog and answer lots of questions of new and experienced canners everywhere. You should check them out and see what they are up to. I tried out their recipe for Four Bean Salad that they had posted about back in August 2009. I am happy to say that it will be my go to canning recipe for this canned salad. I did change the types of beans as my husband does not care for garbanzo beans so I increased the kidney beans. I could not find black mustard seeds in the stores so I used yellow mustard seeds.

 Four Bean Salad

Recipe Adapted from Doris and Jilly Can Cook

6 cups garden beans ( yellow wax,green, Romano or any combination)

1 cup cooked kidney beans

1 cup cooked chickpeas/garbanzo beans – I omitted and doubled up on the kidney beans

1 large onion, cut in half and thinly sliced

3 cloves garlic, pressed

1 teaspoon black mustard seeds – I could not find these, so I used yellow mustard seeds

4-6 springs fresh thyme

1 teaspoon pickling salt or 1 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

1 cup white vinegar (5%)

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

1 1/2 cups sugar

1/2 cup olive oil – I used extra virgin

1 1/2 cups water – I used distilled water

  • First rinse beans, remove stems and cut beans into 1 to 1.5 inch pieces. Blanch the beans in boiling water for 3 minutes. Drain and cool. Set aside.

    Yellow beans and green beans getting blanched - yrcg

 

  • Combine all the non-vegetable ingredients except for the olive oil (vinegar, sugar, lemon juice, herbs, spices and water )into a large pot and bring to a simmer. Briefly remove from the heat and add the oil. After combined, stir in the vegetables and bring to a simmer.Once the vegetables come to a simmer. Turn off the heat and let cool; and then refrigerate for at least 12 hours. (This step is necessary to make sure the vinegar penetrates the beans, making them safe for water-bath canning.) I marinated the vegetables for 24 hours.

    The beans and onions in their vinegar bath - yrcg

 

  • When the beans are almost done marinating, prepare your canning supplies. Clean and sterilize 5 pint jars. The recipe calls for 4 jars, but I actually got 5 pint jars when the recipe was completed, so just to be safe have an extra one ready. Prepare a boiling water bath and heat the lids.
  • Bring the vegetable mixture to a boil. Fill the prepared jars with the hot bean mixture and cover the beans with the hot liquid, leaving a 1/2″ head space. Remove air bubbles and top off beans if needed, wipe rims and cover with the two-piece lids. Process in the boiling water bath for 15 minutes.
  • After 15 minutes. Turn off heat and remove the jars from the hot water bath. I waited 5 minutes before removing jars from water, seems to help keep jars from pushing out the liquid. Place in a draft free area for 24 hours. Check that all jars sealed. Any jars that did not seal, refrigerate and eat. Sealed jars can then have the rings removed, labeled and stored for your next picnic!

 

3 Bean Salad - yrcg

I know that my bean salad would technically be called a two bean salad without the garbanzo beans, but I do have yellow wax beans, green beans and kidney beans, so that should count as a three bean salad don’t ya think, so I’ll call it “Almost Three Bean Salad!”

 I hope everyone likes this recipe as much as we do and don’t forget to go over and visit Doris and Jilly’s blog for more canning recipes. Until next time I hope everyone is having fun in their kitchen.

This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

