The Best Apple Coffee Cake

Autumn Apple cake - yrcg

One of the blogs that I read almost everyday is one of my many favorites for home style cooking, http://mennonitegirlscancook.blogspot.com . You really should go on over and see their recipes and see what they have cooking. These ladies can cook and their recipes are fantastic. I was searching thru their collection of recipes to use up some apples that have been in my refrigerator for a while and I came across a recipe for Autumn Apple Cake, that was from August 2008. I know it is not autumn but this cake had all my favorite ingredients; apples, coconut, cinnamon and nuts. Doesn’t the finished cake above make you hungry and wish for smell-a-vision!!

Autumn Apple Cake – adapted from Mennonite Girls Can Cook

Cake Ingredients

2/3 cup butter or margarine – I used butter

1 cup sugar

2 eggs

2/3 cup buttermilk or plain milk – I used traditional buttermilk left over from making butter

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

3 cups chopped raw apples – I used Honey Crisp – your favorite sweet/tart apple will do

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/3 cup chopped nuts – I used pecans, as that is what I had on hand, walnuts would be good too

Okay let’s make the cake.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Lightly grease a 9″ x 11′ pan and set aside. (I used a 9″ x 13″) 

In mixer cream together the butter and sugar. Add eggs and vanilla to the butter mix until blended.  Blend dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Alternate blending the dry ingredients and the buttermilk or plain milk into the creamed butter mixture until completely blended. I did this a third of the dry ingredients or milk each time, so there were no lumps. Fold in the chopped apples and nuts. Pour the batter into your prepared baking pan, do not put batter into oven, just yet. Now you are ready to make the topping to put on cake batter before it goes into the oven.

Topping Ingredients

1 tablespoon melted butter

1/3 cup brown sugar – I used light brown sugar

1/4 cup rolled oats

2 teaspoon flour

1/4 cup chopped nuts – I used pecans , again if you have walnuts those will be good too

1/4 cup coconut – I had toasted coconut from another recipe, so I used that

1/4 cup toffee bits – I did not have these in my pantry, so I omitted

2 teaspoon cinnamon

I mixed all the dry ingredients together before adding the melted butter to be sure everything was blended. Pour the melted butter over the  mixture and mix until well blended and crumbly. Then crumble and sprinkle this topping over the cake batter.

Cake Batter with Topping Ready for Oven - yrcg

Now you can put the cake into the oven. Place in the cake into your oven on the center rack and bake at 350 degrees farenheit for 40 minutes.

This cake smells so good while it is baking. I served the cooled cake with homemade whipped cream. The guys in my house are not real fans of cakes with fruit, but they gave this one 4 stars and went back for seconds, so I will definitely make this one again. Maybe for taking to a square dance! The cake was just as described and was very moist and not overly sweet and just perfect with coffee. It was even better the next day. My only change next time will be to try the cake with the toffee bits!

Thanks to the Mennonite Girls Can Cook Blog for another great recipe.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Sweets for the Sweet, Sweets from the Oven and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

