Semi-Dried Pineapple Jam Preserves

Fresh Pineapple Ready for Duty

Searching over the wide world of the internet for recipes for preserving pineapple I found many folks discussing Jacques Pepin’s ( world-famous master chef and teacher at the French Culinary Institute in New York ) method of preserving peaches for a semi-dried  peach jam; to make his semi-dried jam he places the peeled and sliced fruit on a heavy cookie tray and with 50% of the weight of the fruit in sugar he bakes the fruit at the lowest setting of his oven for a few hours and then uses the water bath process for canning the fruit, this  method uses much less sugar than typical jams. 

 I am guessing you could theoretically use any fruit and I do not have any peaches in my kitchen at the moment as they are not in season yet so I am going to try this method on some of my fresh pineapple. See pineapple above that has volunteered to be my willing partner in this experiment!

Pineapple slices

  After I peeled and sliced the pineapple which I had sliced the pineapple into 1/2 inch thick slices and placed on heavy cookie sheet. The pineapple yielded 4 cups of fresh pineapple so I dumped 2 cups of sugar onto the pineapple, stirred to slightly mix and placed in my oven at  225 degrees farenheit. I baked the pineapple for 2 1/2 hours stirring a couple of times to coat the pineapple in the melted sugar. Be careful when pulling the tray out to stir fruit as the sugar melts into a very hot liquid and sloshes around in the pan, ask me how I know this! After the 2 1/2 hours the pineapple had shrunk in thickness to be very thin and a beautiful deep yellow gold color.

Me being the burn prone cook that I am 😉  I poured the hot pineapple sugar goodness into a large saucepan so I could get all the lovely melted sugar juice out for packing the fruit. I packed the pineapple into small 1/4  and 1/2 pint jars using the melted sugar to top off the fruit to 1/2 inch head space and made sure there were no air bubbles, topped off jars with prepared lids and rings and I processed the pineapple jam in a boiling-water bath canner per Ball Blue Book guidelines for hot packed fruit at 15 minutes for pint size jars. Removed the jars from the water and let set overnight to cool. I got a total of five 1/4 pint jars and one 1/2 pint jar, those were the smallest jars I had at the time I started this experiment.

Semi-Dried Pineapple Jam ~ From my kitchen to yours

I opened a jar and poured the pineapple into a sundae dish so you could see the lovely color and I sure wish you could taste this golden goodness!

Verdict: This stuff is out of this world. I will be making this again and again as I love pineapple and this tastes so fresh. The flavor is all pineapple and not overly sweet like so many jams and preserves. So far I can see it on ice cream, toast, bagels, homemade bread, french toast and of course homemade yogurt parfaits and I am thinking of many other things to put this stuff on, it’s that good. Next fruit on my list to try with this method is strawberries as they are now in season, that will be for another episode. Until next time sending you all a “Yellowrock”

This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Semi-Dried Pineapple Jam Preserves

  1. Meadowlark says:

    Hmmmm…. I’m in deep thought here. I make a “sunshine jam” that is almost the same, but it’s a cooked jam, with the gelling due to the cooking. I’m not seeing any cooking of the sugar once it’s out of the oven, so I have to ask if this is really more of a “preserved pineapple” than a jam?

    Not that it matters, because I totally have to try it. But just wondering.

    Much peace!

    • Hi there Meadowlarkgurl, yes I guess it would be more of a preserved pineapple but it does taste like a jam and the sugar cooking in the oven so long does get to the gel point in my jars after the water bath and then trying out the next day the pineapple and sugar was the thickness of jam. I did try the technique with strawberries, but still working on those to get the time correct before I post. I kept them in the oven too long and the sugar syrup was very thick and harder to get out of jar after cooling, but the strawberries were very good, thick and toothy instead of super soft like most jams. The strawberries kept their color very well too. One quart of strawberries only made 1 pint so I ate that test run with my homemade yogurt and ready to try again. Let me know how you like the pineapples preserved or jammed this way. I have one jar left and have to make more!! What is in your sunshine jam? Is it like an ambrosia? Before I forget , thanks so much for taking the time to stop by my blog I truly think you are great for checking it out.

  2. Meadowlark says:

    I don’t have that blog anymore, so this is the only link to the recipe http://wegottaeat.com/matriarchy/recipes/meadowlarks-sunshine-jam – it’s really just the Ball canning recipe, but it tastes like sunshine in the heart of winter.

    I also mince the lemon peel so I don’t have the big candied chunks of lemon peel.

    Have a great day!

  3. shamtest says:

    I can’t seem to access this site from my iphone!

    • Hi there, sorry I don’t have an iphone so I am not sure what the issue may be. Being out here in the country I don’t even get a cell phone signal until I am over a mile from home! Thanks so much for the visit to my site, I see that you have been to the pineapple preserves post. Have you tried getting my blog on your home computer?

Leave a Reply

