Cutting and Dehydrating Fresh Pineapple

I came across a great deal while out shopping last week with fresh pineapples at $1.00 each and I can’t pass up a deal like that so I picked out 10 of them. They were green so I have had plenty of time letting the pineapples get ripe on my front porch as it has been real cool here lately while I decided what to make with all of the pineapple. So far I have made pina-colada jam, semi-dried pineapple preserves , ambrosia conserve ,those recipes to follow at another time for the afore-mentioned goodies because they are getting real sweet now and I am dehydrating for snacks, granola and future recipes.  

First wash pineapple in clear water, cut off top about 1/2 inch down , save this part for a free pineapple plant for your garden. Next cut off bottom about 1/2 inch or so, now you have a stable base to hold the pineapple upright while you slice off the sides. Any parts of the peel can be thinly sliced after the main peel has been removed. By the way, when you peel and cut at home you get more pineapple than if you have the store core the pineapple for you with their machine , too much is wasted, so I always bring home and cut them myself and then I have the top to plant in my garden. 

Rinse the peeled pineapple and use small paring knife for any small seeds you may see in pineapple. Next cut pineapple in half lengthwise, then in quarters. Now you can cut the core easily from the fruit and cut the quarter sections in half lengthwise again so that you now how eight long spears. I then cut each spear into 1/4 inch slices and place onto my dehydrator trays. My trays hold about 1/2 pineapple per tray .

Once all of the pineapple slices are loaded into the dehydrator I dehydrate pineapple at 135-140 degrees until dry. They will be thin and will peel off easily from the trays. Takes about 12 hours in my dehydrator. Once dry remove pineapple pieces from trays and place on cookie sheet to cool completely. They are now ready to be placed in your canning jars. They will become slightly tacky in the jar as the pineapple moisture is redistributed, sort of the texture of raisins.

Two pineapples filled one quart size jar. Here’s what mine look like all done and ready to eat or hide until later.

I hope you enjoy dehydrated pineapples as much as I do and can take advantage of sales on pineapples if you have a dehydrator. Until next time, Yellowrock!

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Canning and Dehydrating and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Cutting and Dehydrating Fresh Pineapple

  1. foodandtools says:

    Just bought a dehydrator and will be trying out some pineapple, have done some tomatoes and they are really tasty. How long is the shelf life of your dried pineapple? Moya

    • I have had some pineapple dehydrayed that was in a mason jar for 12 months. The pineapple was beginning to get dark in color but still tasted fine, I chopped it up and used in granola. The pineapple stays bright yellow for about 6 months , if you can keep from eating it!

  2. Regina Schmidt says:

    Just bought a dehydrator and wanted to try pineapple, so your post was great. However, I was wondering if you need to add any sweetener to the pineapple before the dehydration process? Will some of the natural sweetness be lost if sweetner isn’t added?

  3. Mandi says:

    are you just storing them in the mason jar or are you sealing the mason jars?

Leave a Reply

